2017/2018 President's Council

This year the Graduate Student Association (GSA) created the President's Council with the aim of identifying thematic institutional barriers to graduate student success and helping to develop strategies to advocate for change. It aims to (1) start a dialogue amongst faculty and constituency representatives at WLU,  (2) provide a platform where the council members can air concerns or recommendations about GSA operations and (3) support students by providing quick wins - things that the GSA can help with or advocate for that would make a big impact, but would be easy to implement.

The President's Council meets once a month to discuss issues brought forward by their fellow students and identify which issues should be worked on and which ones need to be handed over to other appropriate parties. The council members also serve on the Graduate Faculty Council. Please bear in mind that this council is not equipped to support students on academic and course-specific issues. As this is a new program - if you or your fellow students have any non-academic concerns, you may check with the council representative from your faculty - if the issue is beyond the scope of the President's Council you will be referred to the appropriate parties. 

Representatives

Brandon Benguaich, Faculty of Music
bbenguaich@wlugsa.ca

Brooke-Anne Willis, Faculty of Social Work
bwillis@wlugsa.ca

Crystal Shadwell, Faculty of Education
cshadwell@wlugsa.ca

Gurvinder Singh, International Students
gsingh@wlugsa.ca

Jocelyn Wang, Lazaridis School of Business and Economics
jwang@wlugsa.ca

Lindsay Shepherd, Faculty of Liberal Arts
lshepherd@wlugsa.ca

Nathaniel Khaleel, Waterloo Lutheran Seminary
nkhaleel@wlugsa.ca

Rebecca Friesdorf, Faculty of Science
rfriesdorf@wlugsa.ca

Sakshi Jain, School of International Policy and Governance
sjain@wlugsa.ca

Thomas Wood, Faculty of Arts
twood@wlugsa.ca